Grudges

2009 August 30 § Leave a comment

I finished the Japanese drama Dr. Koto Shinryoujo last night. I really enjoyed it. I didn’t expect to – it was a very slow-moving drama, and there were no guns blazing, no adventures, no spectacular sword fights.

It was a television drama about the human spirit, of life and of living, and what it means to live.

One quote from the tenth episode, I believe, leapt out to me: “It’s harder to forgive than it is to hold a grudge.”

It made me think of my imperfect self – the darker, uglier side of me that I dislike, because I can be so petty and immature sometimes. Many people that I know tell me,

“You’re so mature for your age. You’re so levelheaded.”

Is it a surprise that I can’t see these qualities in myself? I see the worst, and am blinded to the good that I might have.

Holding a grudge and a dislike for someone is such a petty thing. I’m not as good a person as I would like to be. I’m trying to change, but it’s a slow process, and so hard sometimes.

It’s so hard to be good.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grudges at sunadokei.

meta

