NaNoWriMo Diaries: Day 01

2009 November 1 § Leave a comment

So today is the start of another year with NaNoWriMo.

I’m not sure how I’m feeling. Usually, I’m super-excited to be doing this – it’s my only real “thing” that I do for myself and only for myself during the year. Writing is what I am, and what I do, and while roleplaying and writing a short once in a while is nice… well, it’s just not the same as actually working and practicing towards becoming published.

And I do want to become published one day.

This year is, if I’m not misremembering, my ninth annual NaNoWriMo. I’m aiming for 50,000 again – not because it’s the WriMo goal, but because I really don’t want to do less. I know I have midterms and projects and essays and all that, but… gosh, I really hope I can finish in one month.

I haven’t done any planning yet. There’s quite a few members in Elliquiy who are going nuts over planning out all the details and characters, so (partly through my contrary nature) I haven’t really planned out anything, or thought much about my characters beyond my main starlet.

The story is actually a rewrite of my Lord of Thieves idea, which I did with Steve on Elliquiy. So Lhurriel is already fixed firmly in my mind. However, I’m not entirely sure which ‘era’ I want to start in. In one version, the story started with her becoming a Rogue – but part of me wants to explore the part of the story from before that, when she was rising to prominence in her District. In the version where she’s skilled and cool, but still surprisingly naive and sweet, and believes in romance and true love because she can afford to. Because she has her mentor Amery, who protects and shields her.

So I have some of my story fixed in my mind, but no chapters or storyline worked out. I just want to get to 50,000 this year. I feel like I should be more excited and energetic, but… well, we’ll see.

Daily Excerpt: Some Questions Have No Answers

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NaNoWriMo Diaries: Day 01 at sunadokei.

meta

