help is here; come find me

2011 February 2 § Leave a comment

Maybe it had to do with coming home in the afternoon in second grade and having to make my own snacks, and start homework on my own.

Or maybe it’s always just been my personality – I like to do things on my own, if I can.

I don’t like asking for help. I get that. It took me a long time – right up through college! – to work up the courage and tell my pride to go stuff it and ask for help when I needed it. I still have trouble with it right up until today, though it’s gotten a lot better than it’s used to.

But the thing is, there hasn’t been a lot of times when I’ve actually needed help with school (classes, or assignments) because I actually and seriously did not understand the concept(s) of what I was learning. Sure, sometimes I get overwhelmed with extracurriculars or I get sick, and then I need a hand getting back up – but learning is something I’ve always done well, whether it’s history, or math, or English.

So, it was hard for me to understand when someone else didn’t ‘get it’ in class. If it’d been me, would I have asked for help? Maybe, maybe not; it’s not a question I can answer now, since it’s not something that actually happened. But if I didn’t understand something or if I didn’t understand why I wasn’t doing well, would I have been able to ask someone – a teacher, an older friend, a sibling, a parent – for help?

Learning, and what you know, isn’t necessarily connected to your grades. If you’re failing a class because you just don’t like doing homework and filling out worksheets just isn’t your thing, it doesn’t mean you don’t get it – it means that the structure of that education system doesn’t work for you.

And is it your fault that you just can’t bear to conform to that structure, or is it the fault of the education system for pretending that people with a different style of learning don’t exist?

Just a lot of questions I’ve been thinking about, about education and learning and school. I wish I had the answers.

An interesting video about changing education paradigms:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading help is here; come find me at sunadokei.

meta

